Along the Old Frontier

Another legendary route to walk along in Toronto is Front Street which has many historic sites along and express some of Toronto’s heritage in the downtown core. The street marks the rough outline of the shoreline of Lake Ontario as it existed during the original English settlement of York. The current shoreline is about 800m south as much of the inner harbour was filled in the late 19th and early 20th century for industrial development. These are some of the photos I took.

This is part of the North wall of the Canadian Opera Company.

St. James Anglican Cathedral can be seen in the background.

This is shot of the old St. Lawrence Hall which was a prominent public meeting hall during its day

The iconic Gooderham Building which is more commonly known as the Flatiron Building. Overall, Front Street proved to be a worthwhile photographic opportunity and was also a great time exploring my own neighbourhood. Has any one else seen any of these sights?  Tell me what you think.

About The Pal Guy

Ever since the moment I got my first camera I was bit by the “shutter-bug”. My love of nature has become a constant theme of my photography along with architecture, sights and destinations.

Posted on October 24, 2012, in Architecture, Black & White, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Wow, I haven’t seen Front Street since I was a kid! We lived in Toronto and our class would have field trips there every now and then to Harbourfront, the St. Lawrence Market, the Royal Winter Fair, Young People’s Theater, etc. This was long before digital cameras came out so I never took my camera with me.

  2. Thanks for taking me on a tour through your lens.

  3. Love the Opera House specially. Nice shot! 😀

Leave a Reply

