My Little Friend

 

An important part of connecting with the outdoors is to learn of an area’s flora and fauna. It is critical that you know your surroundings thus have a better appreciation of the ecosystem. This summer I was fortunate enough to spend a lot of time in the Kawartha Lakes region of Ontario. I was also fortunate enough to have many great sightings of stunning vistas but also intriguing wildlife such as the Painted Turtle shown below.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I came across this female Painted turtle as I was out for a walk but almost passed by it because I did not recognize the shell to be that of a turlte but rather a blackish rock. But my senses kicked in and I knew for certain it was something other than a rock. To my fascination I discovered that this female was laying eggs. I was able to take some quick shots with my macro lens then I continued so not to disturb it further. Do you have any great stories about turtle spottings?

About The Pal Guy

Ever since the moment I got my first camera I was bit by the “shutter-bug”. My love of nature has become a constant theme of my photography along with architecture, sights and destinations.

Posted on September 21, 2012, in Nature, Outdoors, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. We have box turtles here and they occasionally come into my yard. My terrier thinks they are a toy – she carries them all over the place and even tries to hide them from the other dogs.

  2. Amazing close ups.
    I like the details!

  3. I love your macro shots… I won’t even ask how you knew it was a female turtle without touching it… I’m assuming it has something to do with the color.. I always had to pick them up to tell, but ours are usually box turtles..

    • Male turtles always have longer claws than female turtles regardless of species and as far as Painted turtles go, females have larger and more rounded shells. This particular female was laying eggs so its shell was even larger than regular because of all the eggs she was carrying. Hope this helps.
      And always, thanks for visiting and commenting.

  4. I love turtles! I usually see Painted Turtles on my outings, but we also have Snapping Turtles in the area as well as a few of the endangered Blandings Turtles. Mud Lake is a great place to see them, as it has all three species (though I haven’t seen any Blandings Turtles in a while). There’s one spot where a bridge crosses a small, swampy inlet of the lake where at least 100 turtles like to bask in the sun each spring.

    I love that first photo. It reminds me I need to take more pictures of our common species!

    • Thanks for your input Gillian. I too see snapping turtles quite frequently when I am at my cottage or up north and sometimes i am able to spot a Blandings Turtle too. Look for inspiration in the most common places. local species are just as interesting as some of the exotic animals of the world.
      Cheers

  5. She’s beautiful! Great photos. I used to work in a large building with a courtyard, and we had two turtles living there. Sometimes they would crawl out of flowerbeds covered in wet flower petals, as if they were dressing up for a party.

Leave a Reply

