Bullfrog

One of the most recognizable signs of being in a wetland is the sounds of nature, in particular the croaks of frogs. Common throughout all of North America and even else where in the world because if introduction the American Bullfrog is the largest frog of North America.

I found this frog in a wetland (top photo) at my cottage. Have you ever seen one of these frogs or have any interesting stories about them.

About The Pal Guy

Ever since the moment I got my first camera I was bit by the “shutter-bug”. My love of nature has become a constant theme of my photography along with architecture, sights and destinations.

Posted on July 23, 2012, in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Nice photos! I love how he’s almost giving you a grin in the last photo. Ha!

  2. I especially like the frog on the lily pad. Every time I go to a pond with lily pads I look for frogs on top of the water but have not yet had any success. A frog featured prominently in my blog today too. http://michaelqpowell.wordpress.com/2012/07/24/not-seeing-eye-to-eye/

    • Thanks. I always find it a challenge to see just how close I can get to frogs. Sometimes I can get really quick; other times they jump immediately. I checked out your blog too.
      Cheers

  3. In June I was away at a 2 day work retreat at a campground in the woods, with my coworkers who were primarily city folk. We were out setting up for a bonfire, while the bullfrogs were singing- nobody except me knew what the sound was. One brave soul came with me to the waters edge where I showed them to her – she was fascinated that #1 a frog could be so big and #2 a frog could make such a loud sound. Another coworker was too scared to even come look at the frogs, and MORTIFIED when I teasingly suggested I might catch one and bring it over for her to see. Unfortunately I did NOT have my camera at the ready.
    I LOVE the sound bullfrogs make. Even now, I can’t get to sleep, so I’m sitting beside my open patio door listening to crickets and bullfrogs and other wonderful night sounds! I live beside farmland, near some forested fields, and I have a small but busy swampy pond in my side yard….
    Thanks for sharing your pictures. Your frog friends are very photogenic!

  4. Great pictures…. I personally hate frogs because my brother use to put them in my bed at night when I was little, but your photos are cool because you’re so close. Love the expression. : )

Leave a Reply

