American Lady

 

 

American Ladies (Vanessa virginiensis) throughout most of North America south of the Arctic Circle and can be found in sunny open areas where there abundant wildflowers.

 

These butterflies have quite brilliant orange and black wings but the ventral sides are just as stunning. Notice the touch of pink.

About The Pal Guy

Ever since the moment I got my first camera I was bit by the “shutter-bug”. My love of nature has become a constant theme of my photography along with architecture, sights and destinations.

Posted on July 17, 2012, in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Really nice photos, and the “big” eyes on the side view make the identification so easy.

  2. You bring me closer to nature. Thanks!

  3. Lovely. That last shot is especially good. I like the detail in the wingmand the light is superb, perfect for macro work.

  4. Jeremy Nathan Marks

    Stunning. I love these photos.

  5. Jeremy Nathan Marks

    Reblogged this on The Sand County and commented:
    Everyone should have a look. 🙂

  6. Jeremy Nathan Marks

    I reblogged this. I just had to share it.

  7. The underside of the wing in the last photo is amazing!

    • Totally agree. When I saw the butterfly all I saw at first was the orange on the wings but then when I looked closer I noticed the ventral side of the wings and was amazed not only by the pattern but by the colour too.

Leave a Reply

