Beautiful Beetle

Now that summer is here my true love of nature can be unleashed as it is easier to enjoy the outdoors and explore the wilderness that surrounds me. At my cottage I came across a very interesting beetle that I had never seen before; the Spotted June Bug.

The sunset on my lake at around 6:00 PM.

Adult beetles are approximately 2.5 cm long and they feed on foliage along the forest floor of mixed forests throughout eastern North America.

I came across the beetle on one of my nature walks and I was amazed at the color of the beetle because, as an insect enthusiast, I could not identify it as a type of beetle familiar to Ontario. As I later learned they have only been spotted in southern Ontario on a few occasions. This makes them somewhat rare in Canada but fortunately I had the chance to see one.

About The Pal Guy

Ever since the moment I got my first camera I was bit by the “shutter-bug”. My love of nature has become a constant theme of my photography along with architecture, sights and destinations.

Posted on June 27, 2012, in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. I love these little fellows:), remind me of my childhood days!

  2. Beetles are beautiful. Nice shots!

  3. I live in Ontario also but I have never seen one of these beetles. Great photos – thanks for sharing.

    • No problem. I enjoy sharing what I know with others and I appreciate learning from others. Yes, the beetle is more common in the Eastern US than anywhere in Canada.

  4. I love your sunset picture-makes me wish I was there and reminds me of happy summer vacations in the 1000 Islands!

  5. Excellemt macro shots of the beetle and a fantastic sunrise or sunset..:-)

  6. What a great picture the first one is and what a gorgeous place. Love the colours!!

  7. What a great spot to catch the sunset! I love the close-up shots of the beetle too.

    • Thank you very much. I was out fishing and like always I had my trusty camera. Macro photography is amazing as well because it can capture and save detail that the human eyes usually overlooks.

  8. Thanks very much for your recent visits to my Pairodox blog – they are all appreciated. I check out your blog and enjoyed it very much. D

  9. A beautiful sunset. Looks so peaceful. I love the beetle shots. Such detail.

  10. I love both of these subjects – beetle and sunset!

  11. Wow! thats an absolutely gorgeous sunset! And loved those beetle macros…

  12. That s a new bug to me. Our “June Bugs” are completely different. A pleasure to encounter another bug enthusiast.

  13. Sally Braun-Jackson

    Saw one of these fellas tonight (July 1) while watching the neighbor’s fireworks. It suddenly attached itself to my pantleg. I’ve never seen one of these before. Remarkable!

  14. Found a Spotted June Bug on July 25 2016, 11:40 pm on Stirling Ave, Kitchener Ontario.

Leave a Reply

