Life as a Sawyer

Again, on one of my photographic adventures through the wilderness surrounding my cottage in Northern Ontario I came across a spectacular insect. The white-spotted sawyer (Monochamus scutellatus) is an important wood-boring insect in North America.

Habitat

These photos portray an adult male

As it is still June many Sawyers have and will be laying eggs. In the northern part of its range, the white-spotted sawyer requires almost 2 years to complete its life cycle. So the eggs, then larvae will not emerge as the above adult for another two years, which in terms of insect lifespan is quite long. Have you ever seen this insect or have you ever been confused if it was an Asian Long-Horned beetle? I would be glad to hear your input.

About The Pal Guy

Ever since the moment I got my first camera I was bit by the “shutter-bug”. My love of nature has become a constant theme of my photography along with architecture, sights and destinations.

Posted on June 24, 2012, in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Yucky but beautiful too! Thanks for sharing.

  2. I am impressed with your patience. First, the admiral butterfly and, now, the sawyer ant at work. Thank you.

    • Thanks. It does take a lot of patience to photograph some creatures in their habitat. Plus, the more photos taken the greater the chance of having a few great ones.

  3. Oh vary cool! What is the difference between the Pine Sawyer Beetle that I found and photographed, and this one? But of course the location??
    Curious mind want to know ;0)
    Thank you for checking out my post too!!

Leave a Reply

