Admiral of the Sky

This past weekend I had the opportunity to travel up to my cottage for an extended weekend and I was really able to slow down and enjoy my surroundings. As I commonly do, I walk around or paddle around the lake in search of a new discovery. I though I would share one of my greatest discoveries of this past weekend: the White Admiral butterfly

This is a picture of a bay on my lake that I paddle along.

The White Admiral is a species of the North American brush-footed butterflies.  Ranging from almost coast to coast this butterfly can be found on forest edges and along watercourses.

Notice the band of white on their wings, which is where the name originates.

Have you seen this butterfly before? Let me here your stories or just tell me what you think!

About The Pal Guy

Ever since the moment I got my first camera I was bit by the “shutter-bug”. My love of nature has become a constant theme of my photography along with architecture, sights and destinations.

Posted on June 18, 2012, in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Epic awesome panorama!!! While the macro butterfly are also wonderful. Cheers Nonoy Manga

  2. Amazing butterfly, I’ve tried to get a shot or two but they are quite quick.

  3. I got some photos of one this weekend, too. Mine were all shot from above. I sure didn’t know the underside was so bright. Good photos!

  4. Beautiful shots.
    I loved the first one, the sky looks amazing.

  5. This butterfly is gorgeous as well as your photos! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Your photography is awesome and it was nice that the butterfly wasnt flying so you were able to get such a great shot of it.

  7. Great butterfly pictures! The second one is my favourite.

    I haven’t seen White Admirals (I live in Europe), but I have been lucky enough to capture Red Admirals last summer, albeit without a macro lens.

    • Why thank you. Yes, White Admirals only live in North America but Admirals as a species live throughout the world. the Red Admirals live in temperate Europe, Asia and North America.
      Cheers

  8. Such beautiful creatures:)…!

  9. It seems to be a very beautiful place!
    And that first shot of the Admiral was amazing angle you captured! Worth to mention…

Leave a Reply

