Light Burst

Sometimes you have to create the subject if there is nothing interesting catching your eye. This week I did some studio work with LED drawing and these are some of the results. Building off of the interest I have for the sun I figured I would try to emulate a sun with its rays.

Using manual mode is a great way to explore the power of technical photography and provides you with so many more options compared to auto mode. What do you think of the images? Have you tried this technique before?

About The Pal Guy

Ever since the moment I got my first camera I was bit by the “shutter-bug”. My love of nature has become a constant theme of my photography along with architecture, sights and destinations.

Posted on May 25, 2012, in Photography, Studio and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. That is AMAZING! I have never explored this, but would love to know what the lighting looks like and how you keep any body parts from appearing in the scene? Very cool work and ‘bright’ idea 🙂

    • Most importantly you would need a sturdy tripod. Then find a room where no natural light can come in and turn the lights off too. In manual mode set your shutter speed to around 7 seconds, aperture at around 5.6 and iso 200. You can adjust these settings depending on how your image turns out. If the image is too bright, speed up the shutter speed. If it is too dark slow it down. It is quite accessible for photographers of all levels and it can be created in any sort of controlled environment. Rather than go out and look for a great shot you can create one from the leisure of your own room. Hope this helps.

  2. This is pretty cool. You can also “paint with light” on a long exposure and a flashlight. Lots of fun!

  3. Very cool, next time I get home I’m going to do some spotlighting of a local waterfall with my 2 million candlepower spotlight and a 30 sec exposure, should be interesting..:-)

Leave a Reply

