Bluets

This weekend I traveled to my cottage to celebrate the Victoria Day long weekend and I was welcomed by an abundance of natural beauty. Although there were practically no mosquitoes or black flies I found that there was still a strong presence of other kinds of insects. The ones that i found most interesting were the Familiar Bluets.

Familiar Bluets are from the Damselfly family and there are around 35 various species of Bluets found throughout North America.

Damselflies can be found near or around water as they prey upon small insects and they lay there eggs along shorelines.

I was most intrigued by the brilliant shades of blue displayed on the Bluets. With the power of macro photography I was able to capture some of the detail of the Bluets.

About The Pal Guy

Ever since the moment I got my first camera I was bit by the “shutter-bug”. My love of nature has become a constant theme of my photography along with architecture, sights and destinations.

Posted on May 21, 2012, in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. When I opened the email and saw the title Bluets, I thought you had pictures of wild blueberries in bloom. These were a nice surprise and they are the colour of blueberries. Blueberries are bluets in French.

    • Ah yes, I knew that Bluets was French for Blueberries. I thought that people, like you, would find a connection with the word “blue”. Hope you enjoyed them.

  2. A great series of shots! Very charming indeed!! =)

  3. Beautiful. I have some images of the same dragonfly! They are just beautiful. These are on of my favorite insects and also butterflies!

  4. These photos reminded me of a house I lived in as a child. We had a fish pond in the back garden, which in the spring would fill with Dragonfly lavae. We would lose a few fish each year but we had some amazing summer days chasing the beautiful creatures that emerged from that pond. Great shots.

  5. NIce! I have only seen one damselfly so far this year. And, I don’t know what it is!

  6. Nice pictures. There is a swamp preserve near where I live where there are tons of damselflies. This year was the first time I had ever gone there…tons of them.

  7. Tricia's Blogs

    I had no idea about damselflys nor bluets, thank you for visiting my dragonfly blog post and sharing with me! ~tricia

  8. Great to see your shots with your very extensive knowledgable comments of Native North American flora and fauna. Cheers.

  9. Pal Guy….thanx for the kind words on my Mexican Amberwing dragonfly. I like your damselfly photos…..damsels are fun to catch images of but I was so glad to finally get this big guy…..shalom en theos….jim
    http://www.jimwork.com

  10. Great photos. I really enjoy watching this critters fly around. The deatail in the images is great too. Keep up the macro shots.

  11. great set, and great pics on your flickr site. Thanks for the follow.

  12. These are great photos. It’s fascinating how they cling to the grasses.

  13. I love these little fellas! Great shots!

  14. Hi ThePalGuy,
    Thanks for your comment. Hong Kong got a varieties of Dragonflies and Damselfly and I got more picture than that of course.
    I will try to post more in the future as well as putting English comments there.
    Love your photos too, will keep an eye without doubt
    Cheers

    • No problem and thank you. I am always interested hearing about the adventures of people around the world who share similar interests as me. Photography is great.

  1. Pingback: Dragonfly on Front Door | Tricia's Photo Blog

Leave a Reply

