The Tree Frog

The Spring Peeper is a chorus frog  found throughout much of eastern North America. I was fortunate enough to capture this Spring Peeper without him moving.

In this post I tested out some different effects and this series shows the progression of photographic manipulation.

 

Tell me what you think? Have you seen or heard this frog before? What do you think of the different effects?

About The Pal Guy

Ever since the moment I got my first camera I was bit by the “shutter-bug”. My love of nature has become a constant theme of my photography along with architecture, sights and destinations.

Posted on May 17, 2012, in Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. The first one is in shadow, which blahs things up. Less contrast. The second looks like he stepped into the sun with a wee bit too much self tanner, but that on is my favorite. Great photos.

    • Thanks for your insight. I realized that the first image was a little lacking so i tried to bump up the colour and saturation and bit in the second photo. I also added a soft focus and vignette to draw more attention to the face of the frog. The last image is a more creative display of the frog.

  2. Plain frog -> punchy frog -> psychedelic frog!

  3. never heard one before, crazy. I love the exploration into the final image. I never really ‘play’ with my images like that. Need to step out of the box. The saturation boost really improves the colors.

  4. Brilliant photo, and I like the effects you have put on it.
    Also, thanks for liking my blog.

  5. Great capture! We hear these all spring evenings in the local vernal pools — their collective call is amazingly loud — but I’ve seen them only a couple of times, and never have captured a picture.

  6. I like to see the different “tweaks” on a subject. I like the bumped up saturation on the second (for the web) but find they don’t look as real when printed.

  7. I too like the middle photo. And am impressed that you “caught” a peeper like this!

Leave a Reply

