Spring Growth

Recently i was outside the city and in the countryside and was astonished at all the wonderful new year growth that was beginning to show itself. I was most interested in the various ferns that were beginning to grow and i thought i would share a few photos of what i saw.

This is a photo i took of a young set of fiddle heads coming up out of the ground. The Ostrich fern is a crown-forming, colony-forming fern, occurring in temperate regions of the Northern Hemisphere.

This Cinnamon Fern is native to the Americas and Eastern Asia and grows in moist woodlands.

I believe this is a Marsh Fern but i may be wrong. It prefers to grow in marshy situations in full sun.

About The Pal Guy

Ever since the moment I got my first camera I was bit by the “shutter-bug”. My love of nature has become a constant theme of my photography along with architecture, sights and destinations.

Posted on April 26, 2012, in Nature, Photography, Spring and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. it is a fern! recently I took some photos of it as well. I love the way its slowly blossom! 😉

  2. Nature is so beautiful! PS. I would rather watch the ferns/fiddleheads grow than eat them! 🙂

  3. They look so delicate and lovely. 🙂

  4. Very nice! I did a cinnamon fern a couple days ago on my haiku blog.

  5. Nice pics! I love the first signs of growth and green in the spring…

  6. Baby life…perfect! 🙂

  7. Love the “fern babies” when they’re about to unfurl. I see these in the forest where I run and wish I could carry my camera with me while running… Hope to make it there on a non-running day and get a good shot of them before they’re completely unfurled.

  8. These photos are wonderful! I was wondering if anyone knows where abouts I could find a Cinnamon Fern. I have to do a plant collection for school and I am having trouble finding this one. Any help would be great!

Leave a Reply

