Weekend Travel: Port Hope

On a visit to the town of Port Hope, in the Northumberland County of Ontario, i became fascinated by the many trains passing by that i saw while driving. This interest of mine led me to journey further afield and capture these images.

This is a part of the train system operated by the Canadian National Railway Company (CN) for some of its freight trains.

Located in the town of Port Hope, Ontario this is a rail viaduct that allows trains to go over the Ganaraska River and the many streets below it. It is apart of the same length of track as the above picture.

In this photo one can see all the transportation links that criss-cross in such a small area and in a fairly small town.

About The Pal Guy

Ever since the moment I got my first camera I was bit by the “shutter-bug”. My love of nature has become a constant theme of my photography along with architecture, sights and destinations.

Posted on April 22, 2012, in Black & White, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. The viaduct shot is great.

  2. Your first image evokes a longing and sadness; that said, it also makes me think of pain, as in my knees hurt just thinking of kneeling on those tracks! Altogether beautiful shots though!
    Rhonda

  3. love the black and white treatment of the bridges. I have taken some photos like this & now want to try changing them. thanx!! r

  4. I really love your first picture of the train tracks, right on one point perspective 🙂 From looking at your other work, Ontario looks like a truly beautiful place. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Lovely B&W photos… it inspires me to process my shots this way. Cheers! 🙂

  6. Thank you; Fabulous shots!!Great tones & details!

  7. Love the black & white-almost eery quality to it.

  8. . . . love the composition of your images.

  9. Great shots, I love the composition of your first two images. Looking forward to seeing the rest of your posts.

    Ps. Thanks for visiting and liking my blog 🙂

  10. Nice pics here friend and on the rest of the site! Good job!

  11. the tracks and railroad ties in the photos seem endless–stretching out for miles; concrete girders of the bridge too–yet there is just something about that last pic with the sign it stands out the most to me

  12. I really like these B&W photos. You have a great eye for lines.

  13. Great photos! I especially like the first one. So much texture!

  14. Noel Tendick

    Great collection of shots. I agree that the industrial does provide plenty of powerful photographic opportunities.

  15. I’ve always been a big fan of B&W and these are very good. I especially like the low angle converging rails shot! — JG

  16. Love all the pics in this series. Great compositions. Black in whit is so powerful.

Leave a Reply

